More
referral
Increase your income with Hive. Invite your friends and earn real cryptocurrency!

New Rig Woes Father-Daugheter Project

First, this is a father-daughter project with some old parts just to see if we can do it. I am well over my head and my kid is 10 so we are needing help after getting everything “set up”.

Motherboard: ASUS GL12CP

Graphics Cards: EV3A Geforce GTX 1060 6gb times 2

CPU: Intel i7-8700

Our computer will not boot up if we have the graphics cards plugged in. if we remove the cards then the system boosts up but then we get this error.

I am totally lost and cannot figure this out or why it won’t boot with the cards connected.

Please talk to me in easy words and preferably in pictures. I understand that I am a severe noob at this stuff.

we are connecting directly to our router with an ethernet cord.

Try running net-test from the shell and post the results here.

The router is just a regular Arris router from our internet provider and everything else in the house has internet

Bad cable? Network card on that motherboard known working? Network link indicator lights on? Could be anything but looks like it has no connection at all.

Ordered a new cable. The one we were using was a bit rough. What about the system not booting when the risers are plugged in?

This is the new road block

hive isn’t seeing your card. If it isn’t a hardware issue (riser, cables, power, etc.), could be a bios problem. You could try running it without any overclocks, and cycling the power

Try nvidia-info to see if it detects your card.

=== GPU 6, 10:00.0 GeForce RTX 3060 Ti 7982 MB ===
  Bios 94.04.46.00.D2, PCIE Link Gen 1, PCIE Link Width 1x
  UUID GPU-1429493b-1682-aa85-ec1a-0687df02b12c, ROM flash: Supported
  Power Limit:  Min 100.0 W, Default 200.0 W, Max 200.0 W, Current 200.0 W
  Frequency:  GFXCore 1290 MHz, MEMCore 7400 MHz
  Memory:  Total 7982 MB, Used 5129 MB, Free 2852 MB, Hynix GDDR6
  Utilization:  GPU 100 %, MEM 100 %, Throttle: None