More
referral
Increase your income with Hive. Invite your friends and earn real cryptocurrency!

Rig keeps crashing - but I'm at a loss for why

I’m still fairly new to HiveOS, but since I’ve installed it, my rig will randomly crash after some time (it varies).

I am reusing a Ryzen 1600X, 750W PSU, and a RX 5700 XT. Brand new motherboard, RAM, and SSD.

After a while I noticed that my rig would show as disconnected, even as I could see it still running. When I plugged in a monitor, it would show:

BUG: Soft Lockup CPU#10 stuck

Sometimes after that it would show rcu_sched detected expedited stalls on CPUs/tasks.

I was unable to find anything online with exact same problems, but I did try running my GPU at a higher fan setting to possibly cool down my system more, as I thought overheating may be an issue. Unfortunately, I am not able to find a way to control my CPU settings through HiveOS? My GPU was running hot, but should have been within specs, but maybe the ambient heat was hurting the CPU?

Originally, I did try to overclock my GPU but I wasn’t able to dedicate much time to finding a stable overclock, so I wiped the values from the overclock template, and it should now just be running stock. Did I perhaps do this wrong?

Does anyone have any advice on how to proceed?

Thanks.

Hi, post pictures (oc settings) to help you out…

Try booting with “pci=noacpi”

Hi nanial,

Here is my latest settings. Before this, I just erased those values to bring it back to original and I still encountered an error. Then I manually adjusted the fan settings through OC to lower my temp, but still the same error.

Now, I’ve retried applying OC as you can see there, and it’s been better, I think? I actually managed to run my rig for almost 15 hours straight without issue. However, when I went to bed I think the computer froze or something?

It was disconnected, and the text on the monitor wasn’t moving, but I didn’t see any error codes.

I’m honestly at a loss.

What would that do?