More
referral
Increase your income with Hive. Invite your friends and earn real cryptocurrency!

Mining on HiveOS with moded GTX 550 Ti with 6GB

I got a hold of a GTX 550 Ti with 6GB DDR5 RAM + a basic PC to use it with.

So I figured I might give it a shot and use for a first crypto mining experience. So I followed HiveOS install tutorials and got everything hooked up using phoenixminer. But when trying to run the worker it fails with: Unable to enum CUDA GPUs: no CUDA-capable device is detected

I’m a developer, but not very savvy in drivers or hardware. So understanding the GTX 550 Ti is an old card, originally with 1GB of RAM, I’ve got a very initial question around this, if anyone is willing to give me a hand: will I be able to find NVIDIA drivers to actually “unlock” the full 6Gb of memory the card is supposed to have and use it to mine with or without HiveOS?

Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

Will like also like to know. Got another 550ti 6gb and del not know how yo mine with It

1 Like

did you fix the problem? i was about to buy a bunch of this gpus for mining but i\m not sure if i could mine with them

1 Like

still no way, no answers from experts, so card still inside the box

nada tio, nadie dice nada

Disclaimer: I researched this info and am also a beginner to mining and linux.

Summary: So it wont work at this point in time on contemporary mining software and the older mining software versions that might work don’t have profitable coin algos to mine.