Hive Billing Explained
Hive balance is a prepaid system. You need to do a deposit to have more than 3 free workers in your farm. Deposit can be as small as you want, not need to prepay the whole month you can put $1 for example just to try. Workers are billed each day, not by month.
Only active rigs in the past 24h will be billed. If the worker was online and we see it in stats it will be charged. If it was offline then it’s not counted. No need to deactivate it to stop billing.
Charging balance is done after the passed day. Example: -0.4$ charged from your balance at 02:15 AM 4th of June for 4 rigs online from 02:15 AM 3rd of June to 02:15 AM 4th of June.
Free workers and farms
3 rigs are free to use until you have more. If you add the 4th rig your farm will be charged for 4. We consider 3 rigs to be home mining and having more is a business and we charge all the workers.
You can have multiple farms, if total number of workers stays within 3 rigs it would be free. For example you have the 1st farm with 1 rig and the 2nd farm with two rigs and this would be free. If you have 4 farms with 1 worker in each then all 4 will be billed.
Hive accepts cryptos only. Our payment provider is Coinpayments. Here is a detailed Payments FAQ how to deal with your deposits.
Refunds or withdrawals are not available. You can transfer funds between users and farms, but there is no withdrawal option.
If you have referral earnings you can deposit them to Hive account. Referral rewards are payed out once a month to your address if you have specified one.
Discounts will be for the total number of workers in the farms you own. For example, Farm1 has 40 and Farm2 has 20 workers, the discount will be calculated for 60 workers.
Pricing and bulk discounts list is here.
ASICs have different base price and are cheaper than rigs because there are not so many functions as rigs have. Workers with [Hiveon ASIC] firmware (https://hiveos.farm/asic) are not charged.
Credit is given for 5 days. So your farm’s balance can go below 0. Your workers will still work, usage is not limited. After 5 days it will be locked. Negative balance will be covered automatically after you make a new deposit.
User and Farm balance
For more convenient money management farms have their own balances. You can make direct deposit to your account and then refill farms you own. If farm balance is 0 then user’s balance will be charged, you may not bother with refilling farm directly.
You can set other user to be responsible for depositing farms you own. This user can be your financial manager and requires only Monitor access to farms.
There is a button in your billing page where you can enable Payed Features. Actual list of features is here. There are SSL worker connection, monthly stats, etc. This list can be changed and is growing with more features implemented.
Being a free user (1-3 rigs) you can support project and get benefit of using Payed Features.
If you create second farm Payed Features will be enabled and all your farms will be billed even they have not more than 3 workers. You will be able to disable billing on farm if you leave only 1 active farm.
Transfer responsibility of farm billing
By default owner of the farm is responsible for billing. When the the farm’s balance is low the funds will be deducted from user’s balance. Optionally the owner can transfer billing rights to other user, let’s say accountant. For sure other user will need to confirm that he is accepting billing responsibility upon transfer. The common case of using this feature would be to set one of your organisation members to be responsible to top up balances of farms and not giving him extra management rights. You will stay the owner.