More
referral
Increase your income with Hive. Invite your friends and earn real cryptocurrency!

Anybody know why my 4x Vega rig seems to be hardcapped with maximum hash rate?

Hola me amigos. So I’m running a rig with 4 powercolor vega 56 gpus mining ethash on Teamredminer and it seems that no matter what I do in regards to oc, undervolting, vbios swaps, drivers, etc… I cannot break 38.2 Mh/s. Can anyone offer up any knowledge as to why that might be? I’m a noob to mining and have been mining on TRM for the last two months. Thanks everyone.

FWIW, my vegas are powered by a 1200 watt HDX psu and the motherboardboard and cpu are running off their own 750 watt psu independently. shitty chinese risers on every gpu. drivers have bee amdgpu-pro and while I’ve tried several versions, they are currently on 19.10 (didn’t see any difference in hashrate or stability while running 19.50, 19.30, etc.

Thanks for the help

I know this is quite a few months old, but what overclocking settings have you used? Were you able to resolve your issue? I’m in the process over overclock/undervolting the two Sapphire Pulse Vega 56 I have. The only thing that seemed to work for me was increasing the memory clock. Increasing the memory clock to 950 Mhz was able to get me up from 34.7 to 41.6 Mh/s (ethash). Bumping up the core clock didn’t appear to help, but to only introduce instability. I also reduced the power limit from 180 W to 140 W, but somehow that translates to over 120 W at the wall (monitored with a Kill-A-Watt).

i was having issues with my vega 64 it was not getting amd-oc correctly so i did that

echo "" >> /hive/etc/crontab.root; echo -e "*/5 * * * * /hive/sbin/amd-oc \n" >> /hive/etc/crontab.root

to get it amd-oc every 5 min. It was then working fine however need to be reapplied everytime you upgrade the hiveos version. (if you have hashrate watchdog use somehing like 6 min restart miner 10 min restart rig.