More
referral
Increase your income with Hive. Invite your friends and earn real cryptocurrency!

AMD GPU not found

I am new to Hive OS. I am migrating from Windows. I got my first rig up and running with one AMD 6600XT yesterday. All looked good, and I got the performance I expected.

Next I added a second 6600XT GPU. Turns out it was DOA (I debugged it down to the GPU).

I stopped the miner and shutdown the rig from the HiveOS app. Went to the physical rig. The rig was still up and running it did not stop. The rig would not respond to the Power switch. I turned power off and removed the bad GPU. I turned power back on. I went back to my laptop and HiveOS said the rig was back up and running. BUT, the known good GPU is no longer found.

I have tried rebooting several times. No luck. In Windows, I would uninstall the AMD drivers and re-install in this case. I don’t know what to do in HiveOS. I searched the forum and found nothing that would help.

Again, HiveOS says the rig is up and running. I can send commands and they execute. But no GPU found.

Do need to start over completely and re-flash the SSD?

Any suggestions are appreciated!

MB: Z590-P
CPU: i5-10400
Updated to latest BIOS
BIOS key for HiveOS settings:
VT-d = Disabled
IOMMU Pre-Boot = Disabled
Primary Display = CPU Graphics
PCIEx16_1 Link Speed = Gen1
PCIe Speed = Gen1
Above 4G Decoding = Enabled
Launch CSM = Disabled

Just ran the upgrade to the latest HiveOS posted today and rebooted. HiveOS says the upgrade worked on my rig. But the one single AMD known good 6600XT card still is not found.

I then ran an amdmeminfo command:

AMDMemInfo for Hive OS v2.1.16
original code by Zuikkis and Yann St.Arnaud

CL_DEVICE_TYPE_GPU Failed: Unable to get the number of OpenCL devices.

if you hook a monitor to the amd card does it display video output? are you able to get into the bios and such through that? if not then its not a hive issue, if so then more troubleshooting is needed.